Despite the long hiatus since the last post, both Emily and I (Robert) have been stunned by the consistent number of views and comments this blog has received in the past couple of years.

A lot has happened in the past couple of years. Emily has gone on to greener pastures, and is now back in Tennessee grappling with the far more complicated realm of clinical trials. While Emily did most of the glaze testing, I am hoping to continue in her footsteps and I will continue to post some of the trials and tribulations of a glaze developer.

It did occur to both of us that I should start a new blog, to mark a line that separates our collaboration from my solo pursuit. However this blog is such a wealth of information put together by Emily that it seemed a shame not to continue it. I hope you will bear with me as both the tone and no doubt the content of the posts change.

One last thing. Emily was and is very proud of her glazes and the effort she put into developing them. While she is happy for me to discuss the generalities of how they were developed she has asked me to keep the recipes confidential. I would also say that for the most part these recipes are not particularly helpful as the firing schedule of our electric kiln is fairly unique, and something I looked into fairly extensively before I set it up. The glazes have therefore been developed solely for this firing schedule. Notably, I am firing to just over Cone 9, and I fire down, in order to mimic the slow cooling of gas kilns with thick walls. This means that our recipes will be all but useless for the normal practice (in the U.S. at least), of Cone 6 electric firings.

