Hello Everyone!  We’re new to this blogging thing and not quite sure what’s interesting enough to write about.  I have to admit that I don’t understand the fascination, but have been convinced that this is something I should do.  So, in my “free time” I have decided to start writing about our pottery experiences. 

By means of introduction, we (Robert and Emily) at Promethean Pottery (http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=7066262) use white stoneware clay and fire to cone 10 in an electric kiln using an oxidizing atmosphere.  Robert does the throwing, and I’m in charge of the glazing.  I’ll let him write about clay, throwing, and all the “pre-bisque” matters.  I really only feel qualified to talk about glazes, glaze components, and application. 

Lately, I’ve been doing lots of glaze testing, line blends and such, and will start writing about that first.  I am particularly interested in achieving vibrant colors despite the temperature to which we fire.  As many people who fire to cone 10 can tell you, the heat seems to burn out a lot of colors that you can achieve at lower temperatures.  To make matters worse for myself, I refuse to use commercial stains, frits, or anything that’s not a basic chemical or ground up rock.  I guess I’m a purist that way.  It has a lot to do with my training in science, I think.  If I can figure out how to run a new PCR on my own, I can figure out how to make my own glazes, right?  It has turned out to be a lot harder than I thought.  So, consider me humbled, and I will endeavor to help others in their glaze quests by sharing some of the information I have gleaned in my trial by electric fire.

